sleepless

 

In the middle of the night

I push away the blanket covering my body

Run a hand through my tangled hair

And get out of bed.

 

It is late enough for me to be myself

Prowl around the dark house,

 

I turn on the light in the kitchen

And heat myself a glass of milk,

 

I am hungry,

But not enough to want to eat

Just one of those days…

/or nights.

 

I can see a constellation of stars outside

In the dim darkness,

The snow is frozen everywhere

Some days it rains and that makes it dirtier

And messier to go out,

 

One hand under the chin

I stare at my reflection a little sleepily

The window already fogged with the warm

breath.

 

I turn to God

As I have many days

To talk about things

I wouldn’t with anyone.

 

2 responses to “sleepless

Leave a Reply

