I will build me a bridge

I will build me a bridge when they fight
Cut down some wood from the forest,
To cross the flooding river and try
Splitting my body into two
One for mommy and daddy can have me too.

I will build me a house on a cloud
When no one’s watching or is around,
Then climb aboard it like a ship
Pretending to sail with a pirate
The journey wherever be it.

I will find a red color pencil and draw
From the little mirror on the bathroom wall
The ant with too big a pencil forever writing
Theorizing, chewing the eraser, uneasy nerves
I will paint a smile in their hearts
Build a bridge for everyone to cross.

I am not going to stand myself cut up
In two halves – the ant shan’t live up to see
The trees burnt down,
Though little green grass is where she abounds
Nevertheless she may build a bridge without a sound.

One response to “I will build me a bridge

  • Dhyan

    i like this one a lot. but at parts the rhyming sing forced to me.

    this – try
    Splitting my body into two
    One for mommy and daddy can have me too – however,
    is demands a warning sign. that’s to say – I love it. it sings, it hits, it rips rooms from my heart, leaving me staggering and naked. wonderful.

Leave a Reply

