You should steal

You should take me out for a walk one day
Steal my heart take me into the woods
I would sit and watch the rolling clouds
Let you talk…chatter nonsense
Fill the emptiness of lonely hours.

I could forever write poems from your gaze
Rekindle darkness pull out all laziness
From the sun, hang it back where it used to be
After you’ve stolen me
I know I would
Sleep

A deep dreamless slumber undisturbed
Taken away
Secretly kept, a refugee
Seeking asylum in poetry.

My bold pen
Salutes God
For the understanding He gives,

I – an enlightened soul
Know from where
And whose song
I was conceived.

Leave a Reply

